Easter Egg Pancakes

IMG_6375 (2)

On Easter morning I tried to sleep in a little while the boys went through their Easter baskets.  The baby was sleeping, so I didn’t want to get out of bed, but four boys with new treats require some supervision.  I got up earlier than I had hoped.

After all the goodies were cleaned up I was disappointed to learn that my eldest remembered that I had made Easter Egg Pancakes last year.  Needless to say, he wanted them again.  I gave in pretty easily.  It ended up taking an hour and a half to make the batter and the pancakes.  My husband got to sleep in (it was his turn) so I was trying to manage the four boys, keep the baby happy, and cook.  It can be a challenge.

I made six bowls of pancake batter, according to the recipe on the Bisquick box.  I’m not one of those super-perfect-everything-from-scratch mommies.  Each bowl had 1/2 batch of batter.  I think it was 1 cup of mix, 1/2 cup of milk, and 1 egg.  I used liquid egg whites, because it’s easier.  Then I added food coloring: red, purple, yellow, blue, green, and swirled.  Just because it sounded fun at the time, I decided to try to make each color of pancake a different flavor (bad decision from the time management perspective.)

To the pink I added defrosted strawberries and the strawberry juice.

To the green I added sliced granny smith apple and a little cinnamon.

To the yellow I added a mashed banana and some mini chocolate chips.

To the purple I added dried cranberries.  I wanted to do raisins, but we were out.

We were also out of blueberries, and I was running low on creativity (baby C was unhappy), so blue stayed plain.  Swirled was plain, too.

The cooking took a while, and A, the toddler, got very hungry and stared helping himself to pancakes before I finished them all.  Here’s what it takes to feed a family of seven with pancakes.  Notice they aren’t all nicely egg shaped.  This is real life and it’s really hard to make egg shaped pancakes when there are lumps of strawberry, apple, cranberries, etc in the batter.

IMG_6369 (2)

As shown at top, I served them a pancake of each color with maple syrup (the real stuff, of course) and a few Jordan almonds.  Because they look like Easter eggs.  And taste really good.  And I just wanted some and couldn’t get away with eating them unless I shared.

And now it’s going to end up being an annual tradition, I guess.

At least they can’t possibly remember that 4 1/2 years ago, on Halloween morning, I made them pumpkin shaped pancakes, containing canned pumpkin and pumpkin pie spices, with little jack’o’lantern faces made out of raisins.  At least, I hope they can’t remember.  We’ll find out in 7 months.

IMG_0575

One thought on “Easter Egg Pancakes

Leave a Reply

