Princess (or Prince) Crown Hat

This is something totally out of character for me.  I think it’s ridiculous to call baby girls princesses.  I don’t like crowns as decorations, let alone clothing.  I also don’t really like crocheting clothing.  Sometimes I decide I’m going to do something like make sweaters for all my kids.  I get all excited, choose the yarn, get started… and after about an hour wonder what the heck I was thinking.

But… Baby C hasn’t been sleeping well recently, and I just can’t work on writing up one of my patterns right now.  I can’t focus well enough to make sure it’s coherent.  You can’t nap when the baby naps when you have four other kids.

So, yesterday, I was sleepily browsing the internet in search of something to distract me from the fact that I was completely exhausted and it wasn’t even noon on Monday.  I came across a beautiful crown pattern.  It’s available for free from the blog Water’s Wares (2nd crown pattern)

Crochet Crowns, Two Free Patterns

I made one, on a whim, intending to give it away.  I tried it on Baby C to check the fit, and the 5- and 2-year-old saw it.  Now it’s apparently her crown.  Oops.

IMG_6884

I have to admit, it’s cute and it fits perfectly.  But, it was missing something.  Like I said, I’m not really into crowns.  And it kept turning into a necklace every time I turned around.

IMG_6888

I decided to crochet a hat to go with it.  Hats are easy, so this barely counts as a pattern.  The crown was 50 stitches around, in worsted weight yarn, so I made the hat 50 stitches around in worsted weight yarn.  Both are just yarns I found in my stash.  The light pink might be supersaver.  Maybe.  I used a G hook and it came out to 3-6 month size.

Here’s what I did:

  1. In a magic circle, ch3, Dc 10, close with a sl st to first dc, pull magic circle tight (10)
  2. Ch3, 2dc in each st, join with a sl st to 1st dc (20)
  3. Ch3, (dc, 2dc) 10 times, join with a sl st to 1st dc (30)
  4. Ch3, (dc 2, 2dc) 10 times, join with a sl st to 1st dc (40)
  5. Ch3, (dc 3, 2dc) 10 times, join with a sl st to 1st dc (50)
  6. Ch3, dc in each st, join with a sl st to 1st dc (50)
  7. Ch3, dc in each st, join with a sl st to 1st dc (50)
  8. Ch3, dc in each st, join with a sl st to 1st dc (50)
  9. Ch3, dc in each st, join with a sl st to 1st dc (50)
  10. Ch3, dc in each st, join with a sl st to 1st dc (50), end, sew in end
  11. Sew crown to hat.  Admire.

IMG_6900

IMG_6890

 

4 thoughts on “Princess (or Prince) Crown Hat

  1. Bahahahaha that is so cute! I’m not into crowns or other ‘decorative’ things, nor crocheting clothing either. But that crown actually really suits your little ‘princess’. I’ve seen them popping up in my Pinterest feed and have steadfastly ignored them, maybe my baby girl needs one after all…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

