Too Many Ideas, Not Enough Time

I should itemize my current works in progress.  I am cleaning up my craft area (or at least digging through the jumble of crocheted* animal limbs, bodies, and heads which tends to pile up)

*edited for clarity and so I don’t get charged with cruelty to animals.   sleep deprivation strikes again.

  • Little A’s cat:  A month or so ago, before starting this blog (on a whim), I promised the kids I would crochet each of them a stuffed animal.  The oldest requested a tiger like Hobbes from “Calvin and Hobbes.”  I made one using a pattern from Son’s Popkes.  I like her patterns a lot.  http://sonspopkes.com/direct-pattern-order/  Little A wanted a cat, so I started making one from scratch.  I like how it is turning out, but it has been sitting nearby, legless and tailless, for weeks.  And it needs new ears.
  • Lobsters:  I decided it would be a great idea to crochet a bunch of lobsters for some friends’ kids who have birthdays coming up.  I have 1 1/2 done.  I’d also love to do one for Baby C.  And my dad wants one.
  • Monkeys: I still want to crochet the five monkeys for my header picture.  I know what to do with my pattern, I just have to do it.
  • Star doll: I made a little doll recently, trying out an idea I had.  I’m not thrilled with how it turned out and  almost just scrapped it.  But the kids think it’s cute (#3 just walked off with it as I type) so I should probably write up the pattern.  I already did most of the work and someone might like it.
  • Little A’s sweater.  Ha. Ha. Ha.  I hate crocheting clothing.  I forgot.  Again.  I have an almost finished sweater in size 3-4.  It needs a hood, edging, and button.  I have the yarn, I have the buttons, I lack any desire to work on it.
  • Another doll: I have a head made.  It will be really cute.  If I ever finish it.
  • Dragon: I’m so excited about this dragon.  I only got a little bit of time to work on it yesterday, but I managed a perfect head (on the 2nd try).  I’m not sure where to go from here, but it’s going to be cool.

And then there are the kids’ crafts.  The last few years I have been doing a fall craft fair and the kids have made a few little things to sell.  Now R is 8 and he is making his own plans.  This year he and his brothers want to make dream catchers and wind chimes.

And the bag of partially finished baby blankets in my craft room (aka my walk-in closet).

Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this.

One thought on “Too Many Ideas, Not Enough Time

Leave a Reply

