Crayon Paintings

IMG_7020

Here’s another kids’ craft.  I saw one of these hanging in our pediatrician’s office and spent my waiting time figuring out how it was done.  Then I got home and realized the directions are all over the internet.  At least it was a fun thought exercise.  My kids needed help to do this.  My older two could probably do it themselves, but they were a little scared of the hairdryer, having never really seen one used before.  I’m not even sure why we have a hairdryer, given that I never use it on my hair and am pretty sure I wasn’t the one to buy it.

Materials:

  1. canvas
  2. crayons
  3. hot glue gun
  4. hair dryer

steps:

  1. use hot glue gun to glue crayons to canvas
  2. use hair dryer to melt crayons (careful, ours splattered a bit)
  3. admire your artwork

IMG_7028 (2) small

Note: don’t accidentally drop the picture on the floor when putting it on the mantelpiece.  The crayons fall off, the kids cry, and you spend 20 minutes matching the crayons back up and gluing them back on.

Leave a Reply

