Miss C’s Blankies

Each of my boys has two matching knit blankies (so one can be washed.)  When we found out we were having a girl after the four boys I couldn’t choose just one girly color.  So, Miss C has quite a few blankets, none of which match.  I figure if she really gets attached to one I’ll make a copy of it.  All the blankets are more square than they appear.  I had kids and cats climbing all over them (or jumping on the bed next to them) when I tried to take the pictures.

I made six corner-to-corner knit blankets in the same style as the boys’ blankies.  This first one is in Lion Brand Homespun Thick and Quick.  I believe the color was called “Sea Glass Stripes”  I used 1 skein, so it’s a small blanket (around 24″ square) just right for her to cuddle.

IMG_7207

These four are all about the same size (approx 30″ square, to make a guess).  Two were made with 2 skeins each of regular Homespun.  The top is is in “grape” and the one on the right is, I think, “wildberries stripes”.  The other two were each made with 5 skeins of Deborah Norville Chunky Sprinkles.  The one on the bottom is “peekaboo” and the one on the left is “sprite.”  I think I used size 13 or 15 needles for everything.

IMG_7234

I got ambitious and made a “lapghan” size blanket in the same style, but with stripes.  I used a mix of Bernat Softee Chunky and Deborah Norville Serenity Chunky.  They are almost interchangeable.  The Bernat yarn doesn’t has as soft a drape, and the Serenity Chunky has a very slightly smaller gauge (barely noticeable).  The (large) cat is included for scale and because anyone with cats knows how difficult it is to get a picture of a blanket without a cat included!  The blanket is about 42″ square.

IMG_7190 (2)

I also crocheted two blankets in the last few weeks before Miss C was born.  This first one I did to test out a pattern I was going to teach my sister.  I used 2 strands of “Jiffy” yarn and an 8-petal “African Flower” design.  It’s the smallest blanket (around 20″ square), but happens to (accidentally) perfectly match one of our little baby seats.

IMG_7179

Finally, in the last week before Miss C was born I decided to make a fancy blanket.  Fortunately, she took her time and arrived (late) after it was done.  I’ve never enjoyed sewing a bunch of squares (or hexagons) together, but when making this I discovered the join-as-you-go technique.  It made it so much easier and so much more fun.  I used Bernat Softee Baby Chunky yarn (the white is Serenity Chunky) for this one and a six-petal “African Flower” design.  I an sure I will use this design again someday to make another baby blanket.  I love how it turned out.

IMG_7177

Again, a cat (demanding a belly rub) for scale.  The blanket is shown spanning a twin bed (~38″ across.)

IMG_7248 (2)

My current baby blanket project is coming along nicely.  I’ll share an update soon.  I’m also hoping to get decent sleep one of these nights so I can get back to the dragon.  I’m itching to work on it, but don’t feel like messing up and having to undo my work a bunch of times.

Leave a Reply

