Masking Tape Alphabet Canvas

IMG_7646 (2)

The kids have been doing some making tape paintings.  You know, where you put masking tape on the canvas, paint over it, let it dry, and then peel off the tape.  The method is fun, but the results have been, well, lackluster.IMG_7647Then I found some large (18″ x 24″) canvases on sale for $3 each.  I decided, on the spot, that I would make a giant masking tape alphabet for Miss C’s room.

Materials:

  1. canvases
  2. Masking tape or painters tape.  I ran out of my partial green roll, so I had to get more.
  3. paint
  4. brushes
  5. something to keep paint off the cheap playroom carpet

Steps:

  1. Put masking tape on the canvas in the shapes you want
  2. press down firmly all over the tape
  3. paint
  4. let dry
  5. peel off the tape

Here is my alphabet all taped.  I used 1″ tape.  The whole thing is 4 feet wide by 3 feet tall.

IMG_7622

A close up of some letters.  I didn’t try to make them perfect.  I like the rough edges.

IMG_7624

all painted and drying.

Miss C’s room is a light, cool purple.  I chose pink, yellow, teal, blue, and purple for the letters.  For each color I swirled two paints so there would be a little color variation.  The purple is dark purple and white.  The pink is light and dark pink.  The blue is light and dark blue.  The yellow is yellow and orange.  The teal is teal and very light yellow.

IMG_7634

All finished (well, almost)

IMG_7646

Like I said, it’s 3 feet by 4 feet.  It’s huge.  I love how the colors turned out and I think it will look really nice in her room.  I’m going to get some mending plates and screw the wooden frames of the canvases together to make it effectively one enormous canvas.  I’ll take another picture once I eventually get it on the wall.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

