A Head Start on Christmas

FullSizeRender (2) small.jpg

When possible, I like to give handmade gifts to all my loved ones.  Christmas is more than six months away, but I’m starting on a very special gift for a very special someone.

The yarn I am using is called Kaleidoscope and is by Elegant Yarns.  I love this yarn.  It’s 100% wool, bulky weight, and the colors are spectacular.  It’s a roving yarn and the texture is more rustic than refined.  You can tell it came from a sheep.  It makes me think of a cozy chair, hot chocolate, a good book, and a cheerful fire in the fireplace.

I’ve always wanted an excuse to get a bunch of colors to play with and I finally found one.  I’m going to make a lapghan in the same style as the baby blankets I have been making.

The photo at top was taken, by my mother, at Beavertail Lighthouse in Jamestown, RI (USA.)  I have fond childhood memories of climbing on the rocks and watching the waves crash and splash.  It decided to use it as inspiration for my colors.  I’m going to call this my Beavertail Lapghan (or afghan if I get carried away.)

Here are my eight colorways: (top) Sapphire, Morning Sky, Ocean Breeze, River Rock, (bottom) Glacier, Rocks, Mocha, and Seashell.  They are all shades of blue, aqua, cream, tan, brown, and grey.  I have no real design plans beyond making hexagons, and half hexagons, and joining them as I go.  All the colorways are self striping, so each hexagon will be a surprise and the final blanket will be a surprise, too.

I love the juxtaposition of the summer ocean colors with the snowy day texture.  Hopefully the blanket will help bring some cheer to the gloomy days this winter. IMG_8942 small

Two of the colorways had little surprises.  I ordered the yarn online and didn’t realize “Sapphire” would contain a section of olive green, or “Glacier” a section of light purple.  Thankfully, both should be fine for this project.  If the green looks weird, I’ll just trim it out.

IMG_8954 small

I was so impatient to get started.  I sat down last night and made a hexagon of each color.  I love how they look together.  I might double up a few colors so I can make the blanket bigger.  I expect to get 5 or 6 hexagons from each skein.

IMG_8961 small labels

One thought on “A Head Start on Christmas

Leave a Reply

