Cloth Alphabet Book

I don’t need a new project right now.  I have way too many works in progress.   But, this is something I need to make.  For my fourth son’s birthday I made a color/texture cloth book.  I embroidered a little dedication to him on the back.  He’s turning three and he still loves it.  And I love it.  I made an identical one for my nephew for his first birthday.  He loves it, too.

Miss C’s first birthday is coming up in four months (how is that possible?) and I want to make a book for her.  I already did colors.  Numbers don’t really appeal to me.  I’m doing an alphabet!  I have a pattern for an alphabet book (Sew Baby F728) but I don’t really like their choices: apple, bear, cat, dog, envelope, frog, giraffe, hand, ice cream, jeans, kite, lion, moon, nest, octopus, penguin, quilt, rocket, star, tree, umbrella, vase, whale, xylophone, yo-yo, zipper.  It’s a nice book.  I’ll probably make it for someone someday (probably with a few modifications: envelope to elephant, hand to hippo, jeans to jellyfish,  nest to maybe numbers?)  And I can use their directions for cutting the pages and putting a book together.

But for Miss C I want to do something really special.  I started brainstorming an animal alphabet: Armadillo, Bat, Chameleon, Dimetrodon, Emu, Flamingo… you get the idea.  Then my husband looked at my list and said “Why do these things always have so many exotic animals?  It would be nice to do more things she might actually see.”  And so I embarked upon compiling an alphabet of local (northern USA) animals.  Here is my list: Ant, Bat, Chipmunk, Deer, Eagle, Frog, Garter Snake, Heron, Inchworm, Jay, Kestrel, Loon, Moose, Newt, Owl, Porcupine, Quail, Raccoon, Skunk, Turtle, Ursa Major constellation*, Vulture, Woodpecker, X Spider (aka black and yellow garden spider,) Yellow Jacket, Zebra Spider.

* My mom’s brilliant idea because I was unable to find any local “U” mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, or bugs of any sort.  And Ursa Major is the big bear, so it is an animal.  Kind of.  I could have used the scientific name of the black bear (Ursus americanus) but I like Ursa Major better.

The list might change if I have any brilliant new ideas.  Or if my feelings on Turtle vs. Turkey swing the other way.

I will share each page as I finish it.

Leave a Reply

