D is for Deer

I thought about making this a doe (female.)  I mean, the book is for a girl, and all the deer we have seen near our house have been does.  But, I didn’t really trust it to look like a deer without antlers (look, Mommy!  D is for Horse?  Or Dog?  Or… what is that, Mommy?)  And, bucks are flashier.  And antlers helped the visual composition.  And I thought they would be fun to appliqué.  So, it’s a buck.

I don’t like this one as much as the others.  For some reason I couldn’t get the pieces to fit just right and the neck looks short to me.  I’m not going to do it over (probably,) but I’m guessing it will always bother me a little.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

