Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Month: Donation a Day

It’s October!  October is for cool, crisp mornings, colorful leaves, getting out the winter clothes, celebrating Little A’s birthday, and for remembering.  It’s possible there should be a trigger warning around here, although I don’t have any particularly sad stories to share.

10-1-16-2

October is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Month (as well as Breast Cancer Awareness Month and about a dozen more.)   I have lost pregnancies, three of them, but two were very early and the other was anembryonic (blighted ovum,) meaning there was never a baby in any form.  That one was caught, and handled, between 9 and 10 weeks.  I have no lost babies to remember this month, just lost dreams.  I know many women who are not so lucky.  It is to those women, and the many who will suffer pregnancy loss sometime in their lives, that I am dedicating my little projects this month.

I am going to try to make at least one, little, item every day.  At the end of the month I will donate them to a hospital to give to the parents of babies who are born too soon.  I started today by making a small blanket and two tiny, tiny hats.  The blanket took a little bit of time, but was much less emotional, for me, than making the hats.  They are tiny.

10-1-16-3

The patterns are from the site Mamma That Makes, and they are designed for babies lost at 14 to 16 weeks.  Her site has many wonderful baby patterns, from super tiny to newborn size.  The larger ones could be made for healthy preemies and newborns, too.

http://mammathatmakes.blogspot.com.au/2012/04/micro-preemie-caps-hats-and-bonnets.html

The hats hit home kind of hard because at the beginning of the second trimester in my pregnancy with Miss C we thought for a few weeks we might lose her.  Thankfully, we were some of the lucky ones.  Her health scare turned out to be nothing and she was born full term and very healthy.  But, as I made the little pink bonnet, my way too vivid imagination saw her wearing it.  My heart goes out to the mother to whom it, and everything I make this month, will be given.

I won’t update my progress every day, probably once or twice a week.

Sorry for the melancholy post.

5 thoughts on “Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Month: Donation a Day

  1. What a beautiful thing you’re doing. Seeing those hats made me a tad emotional too. Like you, we were very lucky but had a very scary time with my daughter from 12-20 weeks and I count my lucky stars that she is with us now. So sorry for your losses x x x

    Like

  2. I’m so thankful I came across your blog. I had no idea there was a month dedicated to pregnancy and infant loss. I will be following your lead next Oct. for sure. My oldest son (now 12) was born at 25 weeks so I know the pain and hardship of prematurity. Last Dec. 2015 we lost a baby due to an ectopic pregnancy so I can understand that pain also. I had tears and smiles at the same time looking at your precious hats and blankets in all of your donation posts. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

