Beetle Bop!

IMG_7556.JPG

My only nephew just turned two, and he is obsessed with beetles.  Obviously, he needs a crochet beetle for Christmas.

My little sister has mastered being the super cool aunt who lets the kids do anything.  As a mom of five, I find I am too serious to challenge her for that position, nor would I want to.  She’s too good at it.  Instead, I’m going to be the super cool aunt who can make anything.  It’s a better fit for me, anyway.

I tracked down a copy of this excellent children’s book, Beetle Bop.

img_7520

I flipped through until I found the most distinctive, crochetable, beetle in the book, and got to work.  It turned out beautifully.

img_7547

Knowing how particular little kids can be about details, I tried to make it as close to the picture, and also as realistic, as possible.  The elytra (the hard wing coverings, I had to look up the proper term) lift up to show the lacey wings underneath.  When flipped over, the bottom of the beetle is all black.

img_7534img_7549

 

After making about half the beetle it occurred to me to look up what kind of beetle it is.  It turns out it’s a striped cucumber beetle (I thought it looked familiar!)  Hopefully my also-gardening-loving sister will forgive me for giving her son a giant, cuddly pest.  Fortunately, striped cucumber beetles are really 1/4 inch (6 mm) long, not 14 inches like the one I made.

As a side note, without the elytra, if I striped the abdomen, it would make an awesome bee.

IMG_7423.JPG

2 thoughts on “Beetle Bop!

Leave a Reply

