Un-Knitting and Easy Zig-Zag Knitting Pattern

I am guilty, once again, of distracted knitting.

IMG_8089Uh oh, that hole is not supposed to be there!

Basic zig-zag knitting pattern at the end.  It’s lovely with self-striping yarn!

***********************************

I hate un-knitting.  I am really slow at it and have a tendency to drop stitches.  So, I came up with my own way of doing it.  I’m sure I’m not the first to think of this.

Excuse the kind of ugly yarns.  I don’t know what I was thinking when I got them (probably “Ooo!  Cheap clearance yarn!  I need it!”)  I have been using them to make little baby blankets.

  1. Put all the stitches on one needle.
  2. Thread a crochet hook or yarn needle to pull a length of scrap yarn through all of the stitches of a “clean” row before your mistake.  Because my pattern is a zig-zag I pulled the yarn through one pattern repeat “V” at a time.

IMG_8094

IMG_8095

3. Once the scrap yarn is threaded through all of the stitches, remove the knitting needle and start pulling the piece apart.  The scrap yarn will stop you when you get back to your “clean” row.  I missed a few stitches with my scrap yarn, but they will be easy to pick up.

IMG_8097

4. pick up all the stitches with a knitting needle and resume knitting!

IMG_8099

I am terrible at picking up stitches.  I always do it backwards.  This time was no exception.  On my first row I had to flip each st before knitting it.

The pattern is

  1. CO stitches in a multiple of 10
  2. (K4, K2tog, K4, Kf&b) to end of row
  3. Repeat row 2 until the end of the project

IMG_8250

You can substitute (K4, K2tog, K4, yo) for row 2, but you still need to Kf&b the last st in each row.  It leaves a neat column of double eyelets between the “V”s.

IMG_8251

2 thoughts on “Un-Knitting and Easy Zig-Zag Knitting Pattern

Leave a Reply

